Certificate Programs for International Students

Academic Requirements

For International Certificate Students

Required Units

Credit-bearing courses carry a unit value. You must enroll in at least 12 academic units in your program by the first day of each quarter to maintain your student visa status. Of the 12 units, at least 8 units must be in the classroom with no more than one, four-unit online class to count toward your minimum full-time course load.

All courses must be taken ‘For Credit/Letter Grade’ to count towards the 12 units required to maintain F-1 visa status.

We recommend you enroll early. Courses fill quickly. If you are unable to enroll in the required minimum of 12 units, you will jeopardize your F-1 visa status.

View enrollment start dates on the academic calendar.

Advanced Standing and Course Waivers

In your first quarter, you can petition to have required or elective courses waived if you have completed the coursework elsewhere. You must submit certified academic transcripts to your academic advisor. If a waiver is granted, you will be credited with units of advanced standing allowing you to finish your program sooner. You will be able to discuss advanced standing and course waivers with your certificate program advisor. An approved course waiver does not replace the 12-unit full-time registration requirement to maintain your F-1 visa status.

Required Grade Point Average (GPA)

Certificate students must pass all required courses and maintain a minimum GPA as required by your certificate program. The minimum GPA varies for each program. Contact the certificate program advisor for the GPA you need to maintain in your program or view the grading details on the grading scale.

Earned F grades do not count toward your GPA so you must retake any course in which you receive a grade of F. Your allotted time for study remains the same. You may have to skip a vacation quarter to complete your program on time and bring your GPA up to the minimum requirement. 

English Language Proficiency

Students participating in courses offered solely by UCLA Extension must meet the English Language Requirements outlined below. 

Accepted Tests and Minimum Scores

Scores that are equal to or higher than the listed minimum scores from the following tests, taken within the past two years, can satisfy the English proficiency requirement.

  • TOEFL: 80 (iBT or Home Edition)
  • IELTS: 6.5
  • iTEP: 4.5
  • CAE: B (CEFR C1)
  • CPE: C (CEFR C2)
  • TOEIC: 685 (Listening & Reading or Speaking & Writing)
  • DUOLINGO (DET): 105

While no other type of test score is accepted in general, students who are affected by test center closures may request an exception to submit an alternate test score.

Students currently enrolled in an academic institution where the primary language of instruction is English or International Baccalaureates (IB) students may submit an official academic transcript or verification of enrollment from their school as proof of English proficiency.


UCLA Extension recognizes English as the official language from any of the following recognized countries and territories, and as such are exempt from providing proof of English proficiency.

Applicants who are citizens of the following countries and territories and identify with/use English as their first/primary language do not need to establish English language proficiency via examination.

  • Anguilla
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Australia
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • Bermuda
  • Botswana
  • Anguilla
  • Australia
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • Bermuda
  • Botswana
  • British Indian Ocean Territory
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Canada (excluding Quebec)
  • Cayman Islands
  • Cook Islands
  • Dominica
  • Falkland Islands (Malvinas)
  • Fiji
  • Gambia
  • Ghana
  • Gibraltar
  • Grenada
  • Guam
  • Guernsey
  • Guyana
  • India
  • Ireland
  • Isle of Man
  • Jamaica
  • Jersey
  • Kenya
  • Kiribati
  • Lesotho
  • Liberia
  • Malawi
  • Marshall Islands
  • Mauritius
  • Micronesia
  • Montserrat
  • New Zealand
  • Nigeria
  • Norfolk Island
  • Northern Mariana Islands
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Pitcairn Islands
  • Philippines
  • Puerto Rico
  • Saint Helena, Ascension, and Tristan da Cunha
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Seychelles
  • Sierra Leone
  • Singapore
  • South Africa
  • South Sudan
  • Sudan
  • Swaziland (Eswatini)
  • Tanzania
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Turks and Caicos Islands
  • Tuvalu
  • Uganda
  • United Kingdom
  • United States
  • U.S. Virgin Islands
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

Students can request additional waivers to the English Language Proficiency requirements beyond the exceptions outlined above by emailing intlcertificates@uclaextension.edu with details for our review.

Learn more about our international programs.


vector icon of building

Corporate Education

Learn how we can help your organization meet its professional development goals and corporate training needs.

Learn More

vector icon of building

Donate to UCLA Extension

Support our many efforts to reach communities in need.

Innovation Programs

Student Scholarships

Coding Boot Camp

Lifelong Learning